Safe Zones Program

Safe Zones Program

SafeZone

The BU Safe Zone program, coordinated by the LGBTQA Commission, is designed to improve visibility and support of LGBTQA students and employees. While other minority individuals can often identify role models and mentors, the invisibility of sexual orientation makes it very difficult for LGBTQA members of the BU community to ascertain where they can safely turn for support and information. The Safe Zone program is comprised of trained faculty and staff (identifiable by the Safe Zone emblem posted on their door) who will be available to provide these resources.

The Safe Zone symbol is a message to LGBTQA students and colleagues that an employee has participated in the Safe Zone training and is committed to increasing their knowledge of and sensitivity to LGBTQA issues. The symbol allows the campus community to identify program members and know that they can speak freely with these individuals about issues, including sexual orientation and gender identity, which may affect their academic success or job satisfaction. Safe Zone members will be able to provide assistance, as needed, including referrals. Because one of the goals of the Safe Zone program is to improve the campus climate for LGBTQ individuals, the symbol also signifies that Safe Zone members have agreed to challenge homophobic and heterosexist comments or behaviors in an educational and informative manner.

The Safe Zones Project is based on a two part course to familiarize members with the LGBTQA community as a whole and specifically here at Bloomsburg University. Upon completion of the second segment of the course, the 'student' will be given the opportunity to have their name listed on the public website and/or post an insignia in their office.

To enroll in a training session, please complete part one of the training and register for an upcoming part two session. Click here to begin.

Current Safe Zone Members

Alana B. Atchinson
Sociology, Social Work & Criminal Justice
MCHS 2118
aatchins@bloomu.edu

Mark Bauman (Safe Zone Coordinator)
Educational Studies and Secondary Education
MCHS
mbauman@bloomu.edu

Jennifer Bayer (Safe Zone Coordinator)
Health Services
KUB-324
jbayer@bloomu.edu

Nogin Chung
Art & Art History
OSH 209
nchung@bloomu.edu

Jean Downing
Solve
SSC 224
jdowning@bloomu.edu

Jason Godeke
Art & Art History
OSH 208
jgodeke@bloomu.edu

Jerrold Harris
Planning and Assessment
WAB 139
jharris@bloomu.edu

Asa Kelley (Safe Zone Coordinator)
Instructional Media Services
MCHS 1233
akelley@bloomu.edu

Cristina Mathews
English
BCH 115B
cmathews@bloomu.edu

Ted Roggenbuck
English
BCH 206
troggenb@bloomu.edu

Marilee Salvator
Art & Art History
OSH 215
msalvato@bloomu.edu

Stephanie Schlitz
English
BCH 117B
sschlitz@bloomu.edu

Lisa Stallbaumer
History
OSH 132
TALE Center
AL 419
lstallba@bloomu.edu

Brad Swenson
Academic Advisement
SSC 0216
bswenson@bloomu.edu

Mark Usry
Finance & Legal Studies
musry@bloomu.edu

Julie Vandivere
English
BCH 111A
jvandive@bloomu.edu