3RD FLOOR EXHIBIT
Treasures From the Archives Featuring
Bloomsburg State College, 1960-1983
The 1977 Maroon & Gold Band on the steps of the Bakeless Center.
On January 8, 1960 the Bloomsburg State Teachers College officially became Bloomsburg State College, now with the authority to offer Master's Degrees in Education. Although the state college era was the briefest in the University's history, lasting just over 23 years, it was one of the most dynamic in terms of the growth of the campus and educational opportunities. Many of the buildings currently in use today were built at this time, and enrollment grew from 1600 students in 1959-60 to 6316 by the time the college became a university in 1983.
This exhibit celebrates the state college years by highlighting the buildings and other facilities constructed in the 1960s and 1970s; the growth of academics; the many events that occurred, including concerts, musicals and simulated political conventions; the development of women's athletics; and student activism in the form of underground newspapers, protests and other demonstrations. It was an active and vibrant era, with continuous change and development as new students and faculty came to campus each year to create a dynamic environment for learning and personal growth.
The display is currently installed in the flat and wall cases on the third floor of the Andruss Library and contains photographs, programs, yearbooks, newspapers, plans, blueprints, booklets, newspaper clippings, clothing, mugs, scientific and athletic equipment, trophies and other artifacts. The exhibit will be on display until September 13, 2013.
VIRTUAL EXHIBITSThe University Archives periodically creates online or 'virtual' exhibits to highlight the Archives' collections and the history of Bloomsburg University. The first such exhibit is Bloomsburg State Teachers College in 1959. This is a pictorial look at the campus of 40 years ago, complete with historical and current information on all campus areas that existed at that time. The second online exhibit by the University Archives is entitled A Gallery of Presidents and History of Bloomsburg University, an in-depth look at the history of the University with detailed biographical information on each of its presidents. The third exhibit is Views of the Bloomsburg State Normal School, 1921-1923, a look at the state normal school using photographs and information from the course catalogues. The fourth exhibit is the 1919 War Hero Memorial Pinery, which examines the history of the World War I memorial located near Carver Hall, and provides biographical information on the 16 students who are remembered there. A fifth online exhibit is The Maine Experience: Bloomsburg State College Summer Art Classes at Moosehead Lake, 1975-79, which remembers the summers during the 1970s that art students from Bloomsburg went to the wilds of Maine to paint, draw, learn their craft and experience life. The sixth is A Legacy of Champions: The Story of Wrestling at Bloomsburg University, which documents the history of the wrestling program at the University from its founding in 1930 to the present day, featuring many of our individual and team champions from over the years. The most recent one is The Navy V-5s at the Bloomsburg State Teachers College, telling the story of the naval flight instructors who trained in Bloomsburg during World War II.
University Archives Home Page
Andruss Library Home Page