Commission for Gender and Sexuality

The Commission for Gender and Sexuality works for social justice for students, faculty, staff and administration who are lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and our allies (LGBTQA) particularly on issues related to sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression when we educate campus and community, advocate for equality and enhance visibility.

Vision Statement

The Commission for Gender and Sexuality continues to support the campus and area communities via advocacy, education, and resources. We cooperatively maintain a permanent high-visibility campus resource center with a full time staff that serves as a home of our initiatives. We partner with other organizations and institutions on and off campus to educate, advocate, support and provide social opportunities.

Bylaws and Strategic Plan

The LGBTQA Commission Bylaws were originally adopted October 6, 2010, revised February 25, 2011 and April 13, 2012. Current revision approved May 8, 2020. The name of the organization was changed to Commission for Gender and Sexuality during the February 3, 2021 meeting.

The Strategic Plan was originally adopted at the February 25, 2011 meeting. Current revision approved November 16, 2020.

2021 - 2022 Commission

Position Appointee
Chair Jessy Defenderfer
Vice-Chair Dave Kube
Secretary Asa Kelley
Treasurer Beth Brennan

Committees meet regularly and are supervised by the chairs below. If you are interested in working with a committee, please contact the appropriate chair.

Position Appointee
Visibility Committee Chair Rona Anderson
Advocacy Committee Chair Vacant seat
Recruitment and Fundraising Committee Chair Gretchen Osterman
Scholarship Committee Chair Damien Marken
Conference Committee Co-Chair James Black
Nomination Committee Chair Asa Kelley
Position Appointee
Coordinator of Sexual & Gender Diversity Vacant
Equality Alliance Advisors James Black
Craig Young
President's Commission on Diversity and Inclusion Representatives Asa Kelley
PASSHE LGBTQIA Consortium Representatives Asa Kelley
Vacant Faculty/Staff position
Vacant student positions

Commission Meetings

The Commission for Gender and Sexuality meets at least three times each academic semester to report on the work of the committees. Contact any executive officer to join our mailing list and be invited to the next meeting.

Annual Reception

We will host our 13th Annual Reception on Friday, April 8, 2022 at 5:00 PM.  Please see the Event Page for more information.

We're always accepting gifts for the Silent Auction! Money raised supports Commission for Gender and Sexuality sponsored events, the Mid-Atlantic LGBTQA Conference, and student educational travel.

If you have an item you would like to donate, please complete the Silent Auction Item Donation Form.

  • Gretchen Osterman - Committee Chair
  • Beth Brennan
  • Asa Kelley
  • Damien Marken
  • Mary Jean Rosini
  • Brad Swenson

If you would like to join the planning committee, please contact Gretchen Osterman.

illustration of Carver Hall