Bloomsburg University Council of Trustees recognizes outgoing chairperson


The outgoing chair of Bloomsburg University's Council of Trustees, the Honorable Mary Jane Bowes, was recognized by University President Bashar W. Hanna on Wednesday, June 1, at the group's quarterly meeting. Bowes was appointed by then-Governor Tom Corbett as a member of the Bloomsburg University Council of Trustees in 2013 and has served as Chairperson since 2018. 

"On behalf of the students, faculty, staff, and administration of BU, we are forever grateful for Judge Bowes leadership and for her steadfast efforts to build relationships among all stake-holder groups in her role on the Council of Trustees," said Hanna. "Under Mary Jane's guidance, Bloomsburg University mounted a sound and swift response to the Covid-19 pandemic. She has also provided invaluable strategic advice to the integration efforts between Bloomsburg, Lock Haven, and Mansfield Universities. I can't thank her enough for all she has done for this University."

Bowes serves as a judge of the Superior Court of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. She was elected to the Superior Court in November 2001 and has been retained twice for 10 years terms. During her time in office, Judge Bowes has fought to increase the transparency of that court by advocating for online posting and increased publication of its decisions. She previously served as the statewide administrative Wiretap Judge, and currently is appointed by the Supreme Court to the Pennsylvania Commission on Crime and Juvenile Delinquency and the Pennsylvania Appellate Procedural Rules Committee. Judge Bowes lectures throughout the Commonwealth on appellate practice issues for the Pennsylvania Bar Institute and various local bar associations.

During the meeting, the Trustees also accepted the nominating committee's recommendation for a new slate of officers with Trustee Ms. Nancy Vasta '97 /'99M as chair; Trustee Dr. Brian O'Donnell '86/'87M as vice chair; and Trustee Mr. Duane Greenly '72 as secretary to the Council of Trustees for the 2022-24 fiscal years.

The Trustees also approved the order of succession plan for the University as follows:

  1. Dr. Diana Rogers-Adkinson, Provost and Senior Vice President of Academic Affairs
  2. Mr. Eric Ness, Interim Vice President for Fiscal Affairs
  3. Mr. Thomas Fletcher, Vice President for Enrollment Management
  4. Mr. Erik Evans, Vice President for University Advancement

Finally, BU President Bashar Hanna also granted Faculty Emeritus status to:

  • Dr. Maria Teresita Mendoza-Enright, Associate Professor, Department of Media and Journalism
  • Ms. Linda Neyer, Associate Professor, Library Department

Vasta '97 /'99M, the new chair of the COT, is vice president at Cigna, a global health services company that sells in 30 countries, and is responsible for Customer Health Engagement. She is actively involved in fundraising for the Bloomsburg University Foundation and was instrumental in reviving the Henry Carver Fund, the annual fund for BU, which now raises more than $1.5 million annually. She has also presented at the World Health Congress, the Institute for HealthCare Consumerism, and the Healthcare Analyst Conference.