COST Research Day winners announced


College of Science and Technology Research Day winners announced in virtual event

The College of Science and Technology held its annual Research Day on Friday, April 30. The event this year was held virtually due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The keynote address for the event was given by Melinda Einsla ’02, senior research scientist at Dow. Einsla shared her perspective on life as a research chemist and discussed her work in green chemistry.  Nineteen COST alumni volunteered as judges, viewing students’ virtual poster presentations and learning about the work done by BU students in collaboration with faculty and area professionals.  

Earning the top overall prize was Katelyn Kelchner (faculty advisor: Abby Hare-Harris).

In biological and allied health sciences the undergraduate winners were Rachel Nenstiel and Casey Donahoe (faculty advisors: Cynthia Surmacz and John M. Hranitz), while earning honorable mention honors was Amy Szwajkowski (faculty advisor: Kate Beishline).

In biological and allied health sciences the graduate level winner was Sweetie Patel (faculty advisors: Kevin Williams, Steven Rier, Thomas Klinger) with honorable mention honors to Martina Bennick (faculty advisor: Steven Rier).

In chemistry and bio-chemistry the winner was Stepan Budkin (faculty advisor: Daniel McCurry) with honorable mention recognition to Cameron Stouffer (faculty advisor: Michael Borland).

From communication sciences and disorders the winners were Faith Templeton, Jaclyn Palmer, and Abigail Wild (faculty advisor: Shelley Scarpino).

In environmental, geographical, and geological science the winner was Lacie Pichler (faculty advisor: Jennifer Whisner). Pichler was also the winner of the audience favorite award.

From nursing the undergraduate winner was Stephanie Bush (faculty advisor: Peggy Shipley), while honorable mention went to Kimberly Norwood (faculty advisor: Devon Manney).

The graduate level nursing winner was Aimee Detweiler (faculty advisors: Rebecca Toothaker and Elisabeth Culver), while honorable mention honors went to Rachel Dragano (faculty advisors: Kimberly Olszewski and Peggy Shipley).